Calvinism's five points considered

Considering Calvinism Table of Contents

Calvinistic theology is usually explained by focusing on the five major Calvinistic doctrines, which are: (1) Total Depravity, (2) Unconditional Election, (3) Limited Atonement, (4) Irresistible Grace and (5) Perseverance of the Saints. All five points are more or less related to each other, so that one has a hard time accepting or rejecting one point without doing the same with the other four. They are easily remembered by using the acronym TULIP.

This particular study is a biblical and logical analysis of the five points of Calvinism. The first four articles are a response to a booklet titled, TULIP: What We Believe about the Five Points of Calvinism by John Piper.


Total Depravity and Irresistible Grace

Unconditional Election

Perseverance of the Saints

Limited Atonement

You are welcome to distribute printed copies of this document, or copy and paste this document to distribute via email, as long as the document is unaltered and kept in its entirety (including copyright notices), and is not sold for profit. However, if you wish to post this material on your website or anywhere else online, you must first contact us to get permission. Should you have received this document from someone else, you may want to get your own original copy at just to be certain you have an unaltered copy. The actual book itself may be ordered by clicking the link in the sidebar to the right. ©2011 by David Servant